Complete Selfishness

Today’s NYT suggested that the USofA will probably not reach herd immunity levels on COVID in the near future and we will be faced with a continuing issue resulting in constant need for booster vaccines. So every year we will need shots for flu and the Corona virus.

The cause for such a prediction is the selfishness which pervades are present culture. “I don’t want to wear a mask because it violates my personal freedom.” “I don’t trust vaccines that were rushed at warp speed.” “It is more important for my kids to play sports than to protect the health of everyone.”

During 9-11 we witnessed an amazing “come together” moment, which lasts for a couple of months before we reverted back to “me first” and “you don’t matter.” No longer can we claim, as Ronald Reagan stated, to be a city set on a hill; a beacon for the world. As long as I can get my piece of the pie I could care less about yours.

Too much is never enough has become our national motto. We want more, and more, and more. Masks are an inconvenience of course, but so are seat belts in cars and airplanes. So are speed limits when no one else is on the road. So are required school immunizations.

The Golden Rule no longer has any value. It is not “do unto others” but “I don’t have to do anything that takes away my freedom to be a jerk.”

About Richard Bennink: Random Reflections

Retired Hospital Chaplain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Complete Selfishness

  1. Absolutely right … fascism, white supremacy, evangelicalism – it’s all about me!

Leave a comment